SU Abroad Student Profile: Erin Daetsch

Image

NAME: Erin Daetsch

ABROAD LOCATION: London, England

TERM/YEAR ABROAD: Spring 2013

MAJOR: Advertising

WHAT WAS YOUR MOST MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE ABROAD?

The prequel trip to Ireland.  The 10 days we spent exploring the two cities (Dublin and Belfast) were unforgettable.  It was such a unique experience being able to take a class while walking the streets and hearing from a variety of individuals and speakers.

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE CLASS ABROAD AND WHY?

Architectural History of London.  Norma Reuter was the professor and probably one of the most interesting individuals I have ever met.  He had so many stories to share with the students about his travels and life in London.  The class also visited different areas of London once a week, which was amazing because Norman was our personal tour guide and I was able to see what I was learning about.

HOW WAS YOUR LIVING ARRANGEMENT?

Amazing. I was very nervous because I didn’t know who I was going to live with prior to going, but I met a girl on the Ireland trip and joined with their group, along with another one of my friends.  Although it was a stressful process, I never thought I was going to be homeless.  We lived in a six person flat in Notting Hill, which wasn’t too far from school and enabled us to get to know another part of London.  I also met a lot of new people in my building, who were also part of the Syracuse program.

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE PART OF THE CITY?

My absolute favorite spot in the city was St. Paul’s Cathedral.  When I would go running along the river, I would end at St. Paul’s so I could sit on the steps and watch as people would walk by and take in the building’s beautiful architecture.

HOW DID YOU LIKE THE STAFF?

Prior to going the staff was never on my list of things to think about.  However, once I got to London, I realized how important they were to the entire experience.  The staff was absolutely incredible and they were fun people to be around.  The activities and field trips that they arranged, made my abroad experience all the ore better and I even went around at the end and said goodbye to some of the staff members.  Since London is such a small program, you really get to know the people working in the office, and it was definitely hard to say goodbye to them when we had to leave. 

Leave a Reply

