SU Abroad Student Profile: Connor Dunne

connordunne

NAME: Connor Dunne

ABROAD LOCATION: Madrid, Spain

TERM/YEAR ABROAD: Spring 2013

MAJOR: Spanish Language, Literature and Culture/ Education Studies minor

WHAT WAS YOUR MOST MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE ABROAD?

My most memorable experience abroad was taking my family around Madrid. They came and visited me during Spring Break, and I really loved showing them around the city that I really love. I took them to all my favorite sights, places and restaurants, and I really enjoyed when they came and saw me in Madrid

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE CLASS ABROAD AND WHY?

My favorite class abroad was Business Spanish (SPA 433). The professor, Cristina Perez, is amazing. I feel that I learned a lot in that class, but had fun doing it. The assignments that we did were fun as well, and I really liked my classmates too. It was the class I looked forward to all week.

HOW WAS YOUR LIVING ARRANGEMENT?

I loved my living arrangement. My host mom, Ana, was wonderful. She was so nice, as well as her daughter, Ana and her granddaughter, Macarena. Ana was an amazing cook and made the best food. She also sat with my roommate and I for a while at dinner and just talked to us and that was really, really nice. It reminded me of home and I kind of felt like she was my grandma while I was abroad.

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE PART OF THE CITY?

My favorite part of the city was by where I lived, near the Principe Pio metro stop. I lived in a less hectic part of the city, right near the Royal Palace and a huge cathedral, which was incredible to see everyday. I also lived right near el Río Manzanares and it was nice to go out for walk and walk down the river and take in the sights with everyone around you. It was also really accessible to rest of the city, so that was a plus.

HOW DID YOU LIKE THE STAFF?

I loved them! They were all so nice and generous and very, very helpful. There was one professor who I didn’t care for, but the rest of the professors I had, I loved and wish I could take more classes with them.

Leave a Reply

